What Are The Repercussions of a Firearms Charge in New Jersey?
The punishment for a firearm conviction in New Jersey depends on a variety of criteria. Regardless of the crime, you are accused of, a lawyer can assist you in defending yourself and possibly get the charge reduced (and your sentence). Contacting Lento Law Firm is a good idea in such cases. Many crimes involving firearms fit into one of the four categories listed below.
First-degree firearms offenses:
In New Jersey, first-degree gun crimes are the most serious kind of criminal gun accusation.
According to the Graves Act, persons who are given a conviction of 10 to 20 years in jail for a first-degree gun offense are ineligible for parole. Murder, abductions, and armed robberies where a gun is used in the conduct of the crime fall under this category.
Second-degree firearm offenses:
Even if the defendant has not been convicted of a felony before, second-degree firearms offenses in New Jersey carry a penalty of 5 to 10 years. Second-degree felony offenders who serve 3 years in a New Jersey state jail may be eligible for release.
Ownership of a firearm for unlawful reasons and illegal handgun ownership are both considered second-degree gun crimes. Even those who have never been charged with a crime before are expected to face prison time if they fall under this group of offenders.
Third-degree firearm offenses:
This category of gun crimes carries a prison sentence of three to five years. First-time violators may be punished with community service or parole rather than going to jail. Crimes done with airsoft or BB guns or with non-firearms, including softball bats or metal knuckles, are instances of third-degree gun crimes.
Firearms offenses with a fourth degree:
Fourth-degree firearms offenses in New Jersey, the absolute lowest felony charge, are liable for up to 18 months in jail. Yet many first-time offenders escape punishment for a fourth-degree sentence.
Gun offenses do not typically fit within this category. The majority of gun charges in this group involve stiletto knives, stun guns, or illicit ammo.
In New Jersey, there are some firearms crimes that do not fit within any of the 4 criminal classifications.
How do you respond to a weapons charge in New Jersey?
If you have been accused of a crime involving a firearm in New Jersey, you probably have a lot of questions. Making it from your arraignment to the conclusion of your trial requires effort, from calculating prospective prison time to engaging with your attorney to comprehend their approach. Your ability to prevail in court depends on your legal team. You require a defender of your legal rights.